

# Tasmanians dominate dairy business awards

ASMANIANS dominated the Australian Dairy Business of the Year (DBOY) awards announced last month, taking out the overall Australian award, the supreme dryland and irrigation awards, the medium- and lowconcentrate awards, and the sharefarmer award.

Overall winners Stephen and Karen Fisher of Togari, Tas, also took out the inaugural Trans-Tasman award from the New Zealand winner Railside Farm, of Oamaru.

This was the first year the Tasmanians, along with farmers from central South Australia and Western Australia, were able to enter the awards. In its inaugural year last year the DBOY competition was open

### **By CARLENE DOWIE**

only to farmers from Victoria, the southern Riverina in NSW and south-east South Australia.

The Fishers won the Tasmanian, medium-concentrate and supreme dryland awards with an impressive return on capital of 9.7% for the competition year 2006-07 (which was a drought year). For the competition year they milked 830 cows on 278.5 hectares. Their operating profit margin was 28.5%. They harvested 12.6 tonnes a hectare of pasture (dryland).

The low concentrate and supreme irrigation awards were won by Paul and Nadine Lambert, of South Spreyton, Tas, who had earlier in the year won the Tasmanian Dairy Business of the Year competition (a separate competition from the Australian awards).

The sharefarmer award was won by Wayne and Angela Huisman, also of Togari, Tas. **D** 

### **On-farm stories**

This issue we are featuring three of the winners of the in the Dairy Business of the Year competition – the overall winners Stephen and Karen Fisher, the low concentrate section winners Paul and Nadine Lambert and the Gippsland winners Guy and Leanne Gallatly. We will feature the other winners in onfarm stories in future issues.



Western Australian award winner Dale Hanks receives his award from Elanco Animal Health account manager for the Western District and South-East South Australia Rob Greenshields.



Winner of the high concentrate and south east South Australia awards Charles Wallis receives his award from Peter Van Elzakker, of Bos Trading.



UDP chief operating officer Andrew Sticca presents the Southern Riverina NSW award to winner Danny Everingham, Deniliquin, NSW.

## G'day dairy farmers,

Are you sick of cows dropping out of the herd before their 3rd lactation? Do you want to milk easy to handle no fuss cows? Then you need quality sires from BOS.

For the best (Sexed) genetics from Holland Genetics, CRI, Viking Genetics in Denmark and AMBREED New Zealand contact our office or our sales representatives.

<u>Contact Details:</u> BOS-office Gippsland

Western Vic. – WA Western Vic. – QLD N. Vic. – NSW N. Vic. – SA Tasmania Adam Daniel Kerrie Harman Coleman Baulch Mike Huth Tim Weller Stewart Mancer Peter van Elzakker







Winners of the Central South Australia and Young Farmer awards Rachael and James Stacey receive one of their awards from National Australia Bank general manager agribusiness Khan Horne.



Dairy Australia's manager of industry relations John McKew presents the Most Improved award to Dave and Joy Custance, Poowong, Vic.

#### DAIRY BUSINESS OF THE YEAR AWARD WINNERS

Trans-Tasman Supreme Supreme Australian Supreme dryland farming Tasmanian Medium concentrate Low concentrate Supreme irrigation Central South Australia Young Farmer South-East South Australia High concentrate Southern Riverina NSW

Northern Victoria South-west Victoria Gippsland Western Australia Sharefarmer Most improved

Other finalists in the awards

Peter and Sue Tyrell, Finley, NSW Greg and Meaghan Brentnall, Echuca, Vic Daryl Sell, Barongarook, Vic Warwick and Karen Baum, Jindivick, Vic Mike and Anne Green, Toora, Vic Grant and Melanie Rogers, Ouse, Tas Kym and Kate Bartlett, Murray Bridge, SA Wes and Rita Hurrell, Yankilla, SA Craig and Catherine Cleggett, Glencoe, SA

Paul and Nadine Lambert South Spreyton, Tas James and Rachael Stacey Strathalbyn, SA Charles and Stacey Wallis Mt Gambier, SA Danny and Nicki Everingham and Eric Ward, Deniliquin, NSW Dion and Kate Silich, Cobram, Vic Barry and Vicki Philp, Garvoc, Vic Guy and Leanne Gallatly, Maffra, Vic Dale and Leanne Hanks Wayne and Angela, Huisman, Togari, Tas Dave and Joy Custance, Poowong, Vic

Stephen and Karen Fisher

Togari, Tas

agri business business

Winners of the sharefarmer award Angela and Wayne, Huisman, Togari, Tas, receive their award from Coprice Cobden, Vic, manager Trevor Gardner.



Dion and Kate Silich, Cobram, Vic, receive the Northern Victorian award from Peter Van Elzakker, of Bos Trading.



Winners of the south-west Victorian award Barry and Vicki Philp, Garvoc, Vic, receive their award from Coprice Cobden, Vic, manager Trevor Gardner.

### **Rewarding excellence in the Dairy Industry**

NAB Agribusiness congratulates the finalists and winners of the 2008 Dairy Business of the Year Awards.

For more information on how NAB can support your dairy business, call 13 10 12 for your nearest Agribusiness Manager, or visit nab.com.au/agribusiness

©2008 National Australia Bank Limited ABN 12 004 044 937 AFSL 230686 NBU0852

